After what I’d consider success with my first lager (a Munich Helles I brewed in January) I decided to try another.  This time I opted to attempt a Doppel Bock.  A Doppel Bock is a Bavarian specialty first brewed in Munich by the monks of St. Francis of Paula. Historical versions were less well attenuated than modern interpretations, with consequently higher sweetness and lower alcohol levels (and hence was considered “liquid bread” by the monks). The term “doppel (double) bock” was coined by Munich consumers as they are generally twice the alcohol content than a traditional bock. Many doppelbocks have names ending in “-ator,” either as a tribute to the prototypical Salvator or to take advantage of the beer’s popularity.  A well known example is Spaten Optimator.

A Doppel Bock has strong maltiness and some toasty aromas.  Generally not very hoppy.  Some slight chocolate like aroma may be present in darker versions.

Here’s how my Doppel Bock stacks up against the guidelines.

  BJCP Guidelines Scoville Doppel Bock
IBUs 16-26 19.4
SRM 6-25 16.1
OG 1.072-1.112 1.086
FG 1.016-1.024 1.020 Est.
ABV 7-10% 8.65% Est.

 

Like the Munich Helles it will take a while for this one to finish – looking at being able to enjoy it in the begginning of July – perhaps I’ll force carb it faster than normal so that I can take it with me to the Lake over the 4th of July weekend!

