It’s been about two months since my last post.  So, what are my excuses?  I got incredibly busy with a project at work, I had a couple of holidays, a couple of deaths in the family, two colds and well, I guess that’s enough.

Anyway, what I learned was that it seems to be incredibly easy to make soda.  I was browsing around on the northernbrewer.com website and came across soda extract.  Basically, you add in some water, yeast, sugar and let it go.  You can get fancy with adding honey and dextrose and such, but on the face of it it’s very simply (compared to beer at least).  What’s neat is that you can keg it like you would beer or put it in 2-liter bottles.

I think when my kids are older (only 3.5 and 1.5 right now) that I’ll add a tap for them to my keezer for ice cold soda.  Could be kind of neat.

I did get some things done over the holiday.  I bottled the two cases of the United Way Saison and brewed a batch of Stone’s Bitter Chocolate Oatmeal Stout.  This was a brew I promised my Brother-In-Law several months ago that we finally got to do.  I’m looking forward to it – smells great.  It’s pretty much done fermenting.  I think I’ll let it sit for a couple months (if my BIL lets me) to age it a bit.  Mmm.

My next batch will be either a Honey Stout or a Munich Helles.  I think I might do the Helles next.  This will be my first lager and I’m looking forward to it.  I just made room in my keezer for a carboy so that I can control the ferm temp.

Perhaps my next WILT will be on Munich Helles…

Enjoy,

